Making Vegetables More Interesting


I often overlook the vegetable side of a meal because I only focus on the meat or main part of the meal – it’s something I’m trying to improve on. Recently it occurred that although I’m getting a reasonable amount of veg, sticking a few spuds and some broccoli to go with dinner can get a bit banal, so when I saw Sophie Grigson’s Vegetables, I thought it would be a good chance to get some new ideas.

So far it’s been great trying some new things – I’d really recommend Grigson’s book. It book has recipe ideas listed by vegetable, so if you’re trying to eat in-season then its really helpful. Or, if you’ve never liked or tried a certain vegetable and want to try it out a different way, you can experiment.

I’ve tried a Caponata (like this) and a Pepperonata (which is a sauce made with bell peppers) which you can have as anti-pasti. As broad beans are coming into season I think I’m going to experiment a little with those.

One thought on “Making Vegetables More Interesting

  1. You’d be surprised how a simple oven baked vegetable is brimming with flavour. Mushrooms are amazing.

    You don’t alwasy have to have cooked stuff, salads can be pretty fab at this time of year. Never underestimate the power of a good leaf.

Leave a Reply

