Recipe: Sweet Potato and Red Lentil Soup


I decided I needed a new soup this week having done most of my top five to death… Instead of starting with a recipe I just bought some stuff I haven’t used much. Not because I wanted to get all creative, pretty much because I was poorly organised and thought I’d get a few bits from the green grocer I’ve not used much before. I ended up with sweet potato among other things and that’s what I used for the soup.

Doing some research for sweet potato soups I quickly realised that I didn’t have one complete recipe, so here’s  what I ended up doing. Its based around a Sophie Grigson recipe, but I didn’t have any star anise.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 450g sweet potato chopped into 1-2 inch chunks
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 150g red lentils, rinsed
  • 2 cloves garlic, smashed and chopped
  • l tbsp tomato puree (aka one large squeeze if you’re using a tube)
  • 1tsp grated nutmeg
  • 2inch piece of cinamon – whole
  • 1.5 litres of vegetable stock – hot
  • Salt n pepper

To cook it:

  1. In a large caserole, start cooking the the onion then add the red pepper and spices on top. Cook gently (sweat) with the lid on for 10 mins or so
  2. Add the lentils and garlic and combine together, ensuring the onions aren’t sticking. Add the tomato puree and mix together
  3. Now add the stock and stir together – cook for about 20 mins or until the sweet potato is soft. Remove the cinammon
  4. Blend with a hand whisk, then taste and season as appropriate
Leave a Reply

