A wine recommendation – The ‘Crux’ New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc


I’ve not written about wine previously, mainly because I feel slightly intimidated by the knowledge of those who regularly take an interest in it. I came across a great wine in the last week that was particularly memorable, so thought I’d start keeping tabs on those bottles that have caught my interest.

The staff at my local Wine Rack in Pitshanger Lane are always extremely friendly and helpful. Last weekend I asked for a good wine for afternoon drinking and/or a barbeque and I was recommended The ‘Crux’ New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc, which was on for half price at £5.98 from £11.99 (an offer that lasts until 09/06/2009).

It came highly recommended on personal experience by the staff and Wine Rack staff always seem to be highly knowledgeable. The taste was very fruity and citrus and it was very drinkable. The citrus seemed to work particularly well with the lemon I used to dress the barbequed asparagus. Definitely one I’ll be drinking more often!

8 thoughts on “A wine recommendation – The ‘Crux’ New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc

  1. A good Sauvignon Blanc is my favourite wine of all time so thank you for your recommendation. Please remember for the future!!!

  2. Thanks for the kind words – I’m the MD of the company in New Zealand that makes Crux – we’ve just finished blending the 2009 release of the wine and it will be on it’s way to the UK in time for late summer / early autumn – we think it’s a step up from the 2008 too. Enjoy!

  3. Hi Phill – I’m looking forward to it!

    I’ve already been back for more, so will be good for me to see how the 2009 compares!

    Cheers!

  4. Re Wine Rack staff – I am an avid supporter of NZ sauvignon and have been amazed a the choice in a local Wine Rack near Southport. The staff are excellent and always recommend new wines for me to try. I have experienced lousy service in many wine shops but this one is great. Also 40% off my total bill which helped. Also like Oddbins in Formby.

  5. Pingback: 2010 in review « Source it, cook it, eat it

  6. Wow…. picked a couple of bottle of the Crux 2010 Sauvignon Blanc up in Morrisons tonight, it was on offer for £5 a bottle and is lovely. Fruity, refreshing, perfect. Will be buying this again!

Leave a Reply

